Skip links and keyboard navigation

About the Speaker Series

  • The Multicultural Queensland Charter Speaker Series is one of the key ways the Queensland Government is promoting the Multicultural Queensland Charter (the Charter).
  • The Series aims to build understanding of the Charter’s principles, and how these can be brought to life in a practical sense.
  • Each forum has its own theme, and features knowledgeable and influential guest speakers presenting on topics related to the Charter.
  • The Speaker Series is invite only and specifically targets corporations, organisations and institutions who are on our Multicultural Queensland Ambassador Program, as well as senior officers from across Queensland Government.

Speaker Series #1 – ‘Diversity Works’ – 13 March 2018

  • The theme of the first forum was ‘Diversity Works’, and focused on how to build more diverse and inclusive workplaces.
  • We were honoured to have Australia’s Race Discrimination Commissioner, Dr Tim Soutphommasane, and the Queensland Public Service Commissioner, Mr Robert Setter, speak at the forum and share some important insights to building a more diverse and inclusive workplace, its challenges and benefits.
  • We also heard from an inspiring panel consisting of Access Community Services, MDA Ltd, CareerSeekers and Refugee Talent to hear about the great work they do to link people from culturally diverse backgrounds to meaningful employment.

Multicultural Queensland Charter Speaker Series – Diversity Works

Keynote address: Dr Tim Soutphommasane, Race Discrimination Commissioner
“Diversity works – but you’ve got to work for it”

Keynote address: Robert Setter, Commission Chief Executive, Queensland Public Service Commission
“Towards an inclusive and diverse workplace – why and how”

Panel discussion: “Recruiting a diverse workforce”

  • Michael Combs, CareerSeekers
  • Nirary Dacho, Refugee Talent
  • Gail Ker OAM, Access Group International Limited
  • Mitra Khakbaz, MDA Ltd

Closing address: The Honourable Stirling Hinchliffe MP, Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs